Radboud University, Nijmegen

The Institute for Molecules and Materials (IMM) is an interdisciplinary institute of the Faculty of Science of the Radboud University Nijmegen (RUN), the Netherlands that contains about 100 scientists, focusing on molecular and nanoscopic science. The institute houses several national and European facilities such as the Nijmegen High Field Magnet Laboratory. RUN will participate with two groups: the experimental group of Prof. dr. Th. Rasing, that possesses a unique world-leading expertise in the field of ultrafast spin dynamics, opto-magnetism and laser manipulation of magnetic materials; and the theory group of Prof. dr. M. Katsnelson, world leading in first principle methods and ab-initio spin dynamics simulations. In a recent assessment by an international panel both groups obtained the highest score (Excellent) for quality, relevance, vitality and output.


Role in the Network

RUN will lead experiments as well as provide its unique expertise in the field of time-resolved (nonlinear) optical spectroscopy and ultrafast laser control of magnetization and first principle calculations. RUN will be responsible for all-optical fs time-resolved experiments on magnetization reversal and will intensively collaborate with the BESSY-team in developing novel experimental techniques where fs laser induced magnetic changes will be detected by fs X-rays methods. The theory group will be responsible for the development of a multi-band Hubbard model.

Members Involved in Femtospin

Prof. Dr. Theo Rasing

Prof. Dr. Mikhail Katsnelson

Dr. Alexey Kimel

Dr. Andrei Kirilyuk


Publications Relevant to the Project

K. Vahaplar et al. Phys. Rev. Lett. 103, 117201 (2009) (read more).

I. Radu et al. Nature 472, 205-208 (2011) (read more).

A. Kimel et al. Nature 435, 655-657 (2005) (read more).

D. Stanciu et al. Phys. Rev. Lett. 99, 047601 (read more).

A. Kimel et al. Nature Physics. 5, 727-731 (2009) (read more).

D. A. Abanin et al. Science 332, 328 (2011) (read more).

F. Guinea et al. Nature Physics 6, 30 (2010) (read more).

C. Carbone et al. Phys. Rev. Lett. 104,117601 (2010) (read more).

J. Cervenka et al. Nature Physics 5, 840 (2009) (read more).